Resolutions for 2017


My practice of writing resolutions (see 20132014, 2016) has been completely invaluable to me. As  I mentioned last year, the progress I’ve made has helped me a lot. This practice of creating resolutions and trying to work within a growth model framework has been so indescribably important to me in trying to live well with depression, anxiety, and other things that I deal with. 

Body Image/Exercise/Healthy Living
similar goals as last year because they’re good and because I’ve been meeting most of them! A happy face beside each one I achieved, because rereading it this year actually made me smile as it’s something I have “figured out”  🙂

  • Food Goals:
    • Keep track of what foods I eat and eat 2-3 meals a day. 🙂
    • Drink more water! use the Loblaws-glass-bottle as a measure and consume  4 of these per day.
    • Use the 40-30-30 plan with myfitnesspal to help
    • 😦 Cut my caffeine intake by sticking to tea and trying to avoid coffee as much as possible
  • Exercise Goals:
    • Incorporate walking into every day –use the gym at work!
    • Work up to running for 30 minutes, 3 times a week
    • (I lost about 10 lbs last year out of my goal of 25. I’d like to continue on that track while putting on muscle): Diabetes, hypertension,  and heart disease run in my family; there is a serious concern of me developing these issues from a genetic perspective.
    • Strength train for arms, core, and sides, using the exercises learned from last year
      • Start with simple stuff, using body weight, at home, work up to more intense exercises
      • use the  “health” goals I came up with this year: feeling better in clothes, sleeping better, feeling stronger, fitter, having more energy, doing more without feeling so tired.
  • Writing/Planning Goals:
    • Write 1 articles per week and as many poems as needed (hah, I wasn’t even close with this goal this year, – it was originally 3 but I’ve cut it down to 1 article per week. Hopefully I can maintain that standard)
    • Keep a journal, and a pen, on hand at all times
    • Keep an agenda at all times to note down appointments, ongoing house/groceries list
    • Submit articles to online/print publications, maintain my blog
  • Sleeping Goals:
    • Continue to sleep at a regular time; when fluctations happen, seek to correct them with better sleep hygeine practices like:
      • lights off after 11pm
      • use soothing music if I have to
      • use melatonin if I have to
  • Body Loving Goals:
    • Relax my jaw more🙂
    • Try to love my body more, whatever weight I happen to be at, and accept it
    • Work on corporal flexibility to strengthen mental flexibility – incorporate fluidity in how I live because water can’t break🙂
    • De-stress every night through conscious loosening of tense muscles; identify and work on specific muscles that are tense🙂
    • Continue to be aware of who affects my body and in which ways; listen to my body about how to respond to people – Remember that the words are already on my tongue – I just have to read them out loud without muddling from my brain or my ~feelfeels~🙂
    • This year I really learned a kind of spiritual invincibility
    • Continue to be conscious of my posture🙂
      • go for massages
  • Hair Goals:
    • be more diligent about oiling my hair at night -2-3 times a week 🙂
    • do not wash hair more than 2-3 times a week (this strips it and kills it) :)*smiling as I read this because my hair is bomb this year*
  • Build a self care regime that is not based on material rewards!

Relationships/Self Image – I am truly stunned at how many of these I’ve met, excelled at, and really improved on this past year! A happy face beside each one I achieved, and am continuing to achieve! (two happy faces indicates that I’ve been “getting this” since 2014) 

  • Trust/love/accept myself more – trust others will too🙂🙂 and also push myself in kind, encouraging ways to continue to grow!
  • Be hopeful rather than skeptical🙂🙂 (I am actually so proud of achieving this goal – it has helped me tremendously in addressing my depression and anxiety. See:
    https://midsentencerevelation.wordpress.com/?s=balance
  • https://midsentencerevelation.wordpress.com/?s=hope)
  • Value myself more – trust others will too🙂🙂
    • What does this look like? It looks like listening to my own body about situations – unease in my belly or tears in my throat – or warm feelings of affection and wanting to reach out in my fingers
  • Express hurt before it’s too late…and value my own hurt for what it is rather than thinking I ‘shouldn’t’ be or don’t ‘deserve’ to feel the way I do.🙂🙂
  • Be open to resolving conflict in a way that works with everyone involved; meet people where they are at!
  • Continue deprioritising/decentering romantic love.🙂 while also valuing other forms of love more
    • Once I gave up the “quest” to be seen as romantically loveable, I stopped struggling with extreme bouts of loneliness.  But I think I was confusing loneliness with some sense of lack of self worth which is thankfully being fixed, because instead of looking to be seen as loveable, I no longer see it as a measure of my self worth. 🙂 see: https://midsentencerevelation.wordpress.com/2015/08/04/on-the-radical-notion-of-being-romantically-unlovable/
      And this way of approaching loveability has been better for me and has actually made me cherish  good friendships, my own alone time, a lot more
    • enjoy and cherish my own time, and the time I invest in myself🙂
    • if the situation arises, learn to accept small moments of affection without freaking out, and without necessarily seeking them out – this has been a concern this year so that’s something I may need to work on too
  • Continue trusting my knowledge, abilities, capabilities more – and invest in these more!🙂🙂
  • Feel deeper
    • No. Horrible goal. REMOVING THIS GOAL. Emotional feelfeels are not really my key to understanding the world around me – they’re nice, and they’re important, but they’re not my go-to for making my life better. At best, they give me temporary like 4-min anxiety laced cuddly feels, and at worst, they give me straight on panic attacks. No thanks. (2014)
    • update: yeah this goal sucks forever. Feelings aren’t the miracle path for everyone – but I’m leaving it here because of the ways in which people are pressured into “valuing” their feelings all the time. No. This doesn’t work for everyone!  Leaving it in to remind myself to NOT DO THIS
  • Continue appreciating good friends more – and more often.🙂
    • this includes showing care in the way they would like to receive care!
    • Continue maintaining ties with friends.🙂
    • Build a “present” practice – be present for friends  in ways that show care, especially for those more marginalized than myself:
      • material support: cooking meals for them, helping them clean up their place, cash
      • emotional support: being there for them when they’d like some company, recognizing that they also have a lot to offer and may be shy so open that door more
      • crisis support:
      • presents. literally. around holiday times, if I can afford it, to show my love and appreciation for having them in my life and for existing.
  • Give people as many chances as feels “natural” or which meets my own internal equilibrium for an ‘even’ relationship. 
    • this used to be: “give people a second chance and no more” but I’m at a point where I can invest more in some people, gauge a situation better and with more nuance!
  • Approach people, life, and events from a “growth” model perspective🙂
    • I am focusing so much on growth these days, of my self, of relationships.

Spiritual Goals – this is a new category I decided to add  based on my growth from last year, and practices I’ve started to adopt

  • Prioritise an attitude that centers equanimity when it comes to feelings: Value joy as much as sadness.
  • Recognise that the movement of events, feelings, people is part of the flow and balance of life.
  • Seek to appreciate the balance; do not cling to individual feelings or people. Open up to vulnerability, love, trust, and friendship with equal appreciation for what all of these can bring.🙂
  • Move forward without looking back; accept the present (this goal was so important – going to keep this)
  • Remember why tamasic actions, beliefs, and intent rank ignorance and indifference as much as ill-will; there is a spiritual cost to inertia
    • Do not fetishise pain, my own or others
    • Love myself from a place of deep compassion that expects the best from myself and forgives myself when that is also not met – and love others from this place as well
  • Sit with feelings and accept them as simply an internal storm that will pass.
    • This approach to feelings has been much more calming for me. my feelings do not define my reality any more than anything else.
    • Pain can end just as quickly as joy if I let it
  • Work with the universe more
    • Continue being more giving, working harder, and being kinder
      • Give in ways that draws on the same Source when I give to myself
      • Focus on “L”ove and “S”elf more so than love and self.
  • Adopt a “gratitude” model 🙂
    • this prevents chasing after new experiences/goals in a way that disregards the present
    • being grateful for what I have allows me to envision a future where I will be grateful for what I have then; it is a model that respects the present
  • Start a meditation routine
    • revisit and incorporate visualisation techniques
    • Develop a way to welcome mornings, and to invite night as a way of accepting the day and its events at the end of every night
  • Begin a spell-book/ritual book to develop routines that structure the day

Personal and Professional Development Goals: Work/School/Volunteering/

  • Continue excelling at work
    • revamp my program 🙂
    • meet and excel at work-related targets 🙂
    • build community contacts and network efficiently and strategically 🙂
  • Volunteer with organizations that have similar political/social aims! ( – need to apply! I am stunned I didn’t get around to this last year – really need to up my volunteering game)
    • Canadian Blood Services
    • St Michael’s Research
    • Women’s Shelters
  • Retake MCAT
  • Write PCAT
  • Apply to SMP, MPH, med schools
  • save $$! – see personal budget plan, maintain budget plan from last year/improve upon it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

