Anger


For some, she comes early,
but she is always late for me: this
song on a taught string, holding
my masseter in place, tight like a drum,
lessons still to learn as she
locks some words away –
she is the hiss of a boiler room
pressure valve slowly releasing
my viper tongue, my scorpion sting

I thought I left you behind in a summer,
crawled out from under your carapace
casket, hearse.

Boo hoo, little girl,
guess you didn’t, 
she whispers, laughing
a little at me
a little at the world
(Balance is, I suppose, important)
And now, what about you?

What about me?

I know, she says, silkily gliding
over my tongue,
we haven’t been on the best of terms, 

I know, she says, sliding comfortably
into  my gaze
we may not always see things the same way,

I know, she says, curling my fingers
into palms to make tiny closed familiar fists
you’ve preferred the way of the open word and the open kiss

I know, she says, seductively stealing
into the marrow of my bones
sometimes  – only sometimes – you need me and my way of stone

In the time of Fear and Loneliness
before trust and before friendship
before kindness, before hope,
before Love,
there she was:
the robbed child,
the crone, ugly before her time,
the watchful spy,
flame thrower, heart eater,
cruel witch,
proud bitch,

and now in the glass,

there she still is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

