A Better Mirror


There is better
than you for
me and better
than me for
you out in
this wide world.

maybe we both will
find it in our reflections
and remember the other
with fondness knowing
we each have a good mirror
for ourselves

maybe we both will
see in our own pupils
each other’s best soul
reflected and smiling,
in shining knowledge
of the other’s peace

Yes, there are moments
I cannot breathe with
all my broken memories
of ground glass in my lungs,

But there are moments
too, when
I call you friend, and
the word falls from my lips
like a butterfly with summer wings
born knowing to fly beautifully.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

